Keyword Analysis & Research: fields medal winners

Keyword Analysis

Keyword Research: People who searched fields medal winners also searched

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Fields Medal?

The obverse of the Fields Medal. The Fields Medal is a prize awarded to two, three, or four mathematicians under 40 years of age at the International Congress of the International Mathematical Union (IMU), a meeting that takes place every four years.

What happened to the Fields Medalists in 2018?

The most recent group of Fields Medalists received their awards on 1 August 2018 at the opening ceremony of the IMU International Congress, held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The medal belonging to one of the four joint winners, Caucher Birkar, was stolen shortly after the event. The ICM presented Birkar with a replacement medal a few days later.

Is the Fields Medal the Nobel Prize of mathematics?

Conditions of the award. The Fields Medal has for a long time been regarded as the most prestigious award in the field of mathematics and is often described as the Nobel Prize of Mathematics.

Who has won the 2018 Fields Medal in mathematics?

^ "Faculty Appointee Akshay Venkatesh Awarded 2018 Fields Medal". August 2018. ^ Jackson, Allyn (October 2004). "As If Summoned from the Void: The Life of Alexandre Grothendieck" (PDF). Notices of the American Mathematical Society. 51 (9): 1198. Retrieved 26 August 2006. ^ "This Mathematical Month – August". American Mathematical Society.

Search Results related to fields medal winners on Search Engine