Keyword Analysis & Research: south african languages spoken

Keyword Analysis

Keyword Research: People who searched south african languages spoken also searched

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the 11 official languages in South Africa?

In South Africa eleven languages of South Africa are recognised as official languages. The 11 official languages are: English, Afrikaans, IsiZulu, isiXhosa, isiNdebele, siSwati, Sepedi or Sesotho sa Leboa, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Sesotho and Setswana. South African English is also different to the English that is used in England, the USA or Australia.

What is the most commonly spoken language in South Africa?

Zulu is the most widely spoken language in South Africa with about 12 million speakers representing 23% of the country’s population. The language is understood by more than half of South Africans. The other popular language is the Xhosa with 16% of the population speaking the language.

Can you speak any other languages South Africans?

Most South Africans are multilingual, able to speak more than one language. English- and Afrikaans-speaking people tend not to have much ability in indigenous languages, but are fairly fluent in each other's language. Most South Africans speak English, which is fairly ubiquitous in official and commercial public life.

Which language do they speak in South Africa?

English is the principal common language (lingua franca) of South Africans, but less than 10% of them speak it as first language (mother tongue). English.

Search Results related to south african languages spoken on Search Engine